Current Army List, v2.0.

I’m back at trying to make the best list possible for my Lizardmen. The good thing is that I have over 5,000 points (painted) so I can pick and choose on a lot of things. I’ve been reviewing other lists and have taken a lot of advice, so here’s what I’ve come up with… I’m going for a pretty balanced army list, that is capable of moving quickly and getting into hand-to-hand combat. I opted to beef up my Saurus Units a little, going from 20 to 24 and expanding the ranks to 6 in order to maximize frontage. I also added a Skrox unit, and, even though I’m still on the fence about this unit, I want to give it a try to see if I can be surprised. I also scrapped the EOTG and added a total of 3 Hero choices, 2 Scar-Vets and a Skink Shaman. Anyways, I’ll show the detailed changes for each category below, here we go:

Lord:

Oldblood “Bot’l-Roq-It” w/Carnosaur, Shield, Armour of Destiny, Great Weapon, and Luckstone. I decided to scrap the Ogre Blade and save some points but still maintain the Strength 7. I’ll be striking last so I dropped the 5 point Potion of Speed and upgraded to the Armour of Destiny. I figured that since he’s going to be striking last he will need to be able to withstand  the attacks that he will surely get. Overall, he has a 0+ Armour Save and 4+ Ward Save, and I figured that it won’t get much better than that.  When it comes to his offensive output, all said and done, they will be throwing out 11 Strength 7 attacks (Carnosaur included) once a wound has been inflicted and they become subject to Frenzy.

Heroes:

Scar-Vet “Tee-Recks” w/shield and light armour. He is also the BSB and carries the Standard of Discipline. In total, he will have a 3+ armour save and a 6+ ward (parry) save in HtH. His banner gives +1 Leadership to the unit he’s with, bringing it up to Ld 9… on 3 dice…

Scar-Vet “Naz-Daq”w/light armour, Enchanted Shield, and the Gold Sigil Sword. This guy will join the other unit of Saurus to give it a little more offensive power. He will be striking at Initiative 10 due to the magic weapon and has a save of 2+.

Skink Shaman “Tik-Tok” w/Level 2 upgrade, Plaque of Tepok, and Rod of the Storm. I want to use this guy as a possible 1-2 dispels per turn and give just a tiny bit of offensive magic as well. He will have 3 spells so one should hopefully be good and the Rod gives him an additional Urannon’s Thunderbolt.

Core Units:

24 Saurus w/hand weapon and shield. Full Command. (Scar-Vet Tee-Recks will be with this unit.)

24 Saurus w/Spears and shield.  Full Command. (Scar-Vet Naz-Daq will be with this unit.)

11 Skinks w/javelins and shields and 1 Kroxigor. (Skink Shaman Tik-Tok with this unit.)

10 Skink Skirmishers.

10 Skink Skirmishers.

Special Units:

4 Terradons

Stegadon

6 Chameleon Skinks

Rare Units:

Salamander

Salamander

The breakdown is as follows:

Lord: 19%   Heroes: 17.1%   Core: 38.3%   Special: 18.9%   Rare: 6.7%

In most games, this is how I’d like to set up, in order to protect the flanks of the main battleline, which will be formed by the 2 Saurus Units and Stegadon. I’d like to have the Salamanders be on one flank and the Skrox to be on the other, just in case they get a good opportunity to lend a flank attack (ok, a weak flank attack)… I will use the Vanguard special rule in the beginning of the game to get my Terradons out in front in case there are some war machines or small units, where I can utilize their Drop Rocks special rule. I am also going to do the same on a flank (determined on the opponent’s setup) with the Chameleon Skinks. They will be held until the end of setup so they can take advantage of the Scout special rule.  With the BSB having Ld 9 and rolling on 3 dice, I hope that I don’t run very often and can keep the main battleline intact until the Oldblood can come around on the flank to support. The Stegadon is there for added punch as well.

Anyways, let me know what your thoughts are and I’ll keep you updated as I playtest it, which should be on Tuesday. Thanks!

12 thoughts on “Current Army List, v2.0.

  1. I can see where you are going but in my opinion I still don’t think you have much staying power in your main combat units with only 24 saurus warriors each. With only a lv 2 as your magic defense if you run into a army that uses augments or LoD (for Purple Sun) you may have a tough time. I would drop the krox unit and beef up the saurus units as much as possible, I would also try to fit a scroll in there somewhere.

    Have you managed to get a game in with it yet and if so how did it go?

    • Agree w/Tim G. Plus go sword/board w/the saurus. Really capitalize on their toughness by getting the parry save. Just buy the bits on ebay and get ’em done. quit crying!

  2. Hey Tim, thanks for the input. I’m going to test it out on Tuesday so I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m considering dropping the Skrox unit too as it just doesn’t do enough… but I do like to look of it. I need to test it first and see how it goes. I’ll keep you comments in mind. Thanks again!

  3. Drop any and all Monstrous Infantry completely out of the game. Unless they are in a block formation, they’re useless. The game has completely changed to infantry formations and magic defense. This army would get obliterated by a Purple Sun army. Obliterated. Also, it would get annihiated by my Skaven army. Annihilated. Ranks of infantry, catch up with the 8th Edition. Some things are just the way they are.

  4. Purple Sun army would be any army with a lv1,2,3 or 4 that manages to roll Purple Sun as one of their spells. I have seen level 1’s with it run out of their unit and roll 6 dice hoping for a miscast to get the higher level casting of it. Once it goes off it is GG…

    One of the reasons why the Slann rocks is that he could prevent almost all irresistible castings (minus the power scroll, Book of Hoeth, etc…) by removing the 6’s from the wizard with that spell.

    • Tim, that’s true but I’m not sure I want to go the route of the toad yet. To me that seems like easy-mode since he can dish out a lot of damage and the “Life Toad” has become a cliche nowadays… I don’t want to follow paths, I want to make my own.

  5. Against other magic heavy armies it gives you an advantage yes, but I’m not sure I would call it easy mode as you can still lose to a competent general. BTW, your current lord setup has it advantages against heavy combat armies with minimal magic and if that is what you generally face in your meta I can see why you would want to go that route.

    In my previous post I was only trying to get you to increase your magic defense by adding in a scroll but I did want to warn you that you would be at a major disadvantage against certain armies to where it isn’t even worth playing out the game…but unfortunately that is how 8th edition is.

    I also understand about wanting to create your own path which was the main reason I started my Beastman army and sold my undefeated WoC army.

    • Tim, yea, I’m not so sure about this newest edition… it seems like they’re trying to go somewhere with how the gameplay is now. In the past, it seemed to rely much more on how well of a General you are and now, even though that element is still present, it has diminished somewhat, in my opinion. But again, still new to 8th edition and as I get more games under my belt I’m sure I’ll make adjustments. Thanks for the follow-up comments. I have a game this evening so I’ll post how it went afterward. Later man.

Leave a Reply

