40K Chronicles: WIP Deathwing Terminator.

Used without permission.

Welp… It’s been a long time since I’ve gotten to make a post… There’s been so much going on with me and the fam lately… Where to begin? I was sent to Washington D.C. for two weeks and, needless to say, I didn’t have any Warhammer stuff with me; I was too busy working the entire time so it would have been pointless anyways. So I guess it’s a good thing I didn’t drag some stuff with me all the way across the entire country. I’ve had very little time lately to do anything… I’m in the process of moving (to D.C.) and have been working on finding a new place to stay, trying to start packing some things up, and working with the relocation folks that it has literally taken all of my time to do anything… But today I was intent on getting some painting in… First, If you have been following my blog I want to apologize since it’s been a few weeks since I had an update and about a month or so since I actually had an update that was worthwhile. Sadly, I must admit that I won’t be updating as much as I’d like over the next month until all gets settled and I’m set up and ready to go… The good news, however, is that I’ll have my own “Man Cave” when I get to my new dwelling so no more makeshift paint station. I’m excited to get my own room again and I’ll definitely be looking forward to setting up my work station and getting it all situated. It’ll be good to finish working on something and just close the paint, dry off the paint brush, and then walk off to another room… I can’t wait! (Currently I have to clean up my work area, put up all the paint and paintbrushes, pick up the mini’s, put it all in a big box, break down the table and chair, and then store it in the closet…. only to take it out all over again when I want to paint…) So, as you can imagine, it’s long overdue and I can’t wait to get it set up the way I want.

So tonight’s menu included the start of my Deathwing army. Yes, yes… I know… it’s Warhammer 40K… If you’ve seen my last few posts you’ll know that I’m starting on my O&G army since my LM are all finished up (less a few tweaks here and there). But, before I go deep into the Greenskin realm I want to finish my Deathwing army so I can have an army for each game system. Back in the day, I played both Fantasy and 40K religiously… but in recent years I have found that Fantasy is just a much better game (IMO anyways) and eventually found myself getting rid of all my 40K armies and sticking solely to Fantasy. I’ve always loved the models in 40K and really enjoy the futuristic / tank-y / robot feel that is a huge part of the 40K world. I knew that I would eventually go back to 40K and that it was just a matter of time. So, I acquired a Deathwing army (Thanks, Khorne53!) and have now decided to get to work. I wanted to paint a prototype of this army and that’s exactly what this guy is… I’m trying some new painting techniques on this army and want to try it out on one model instead of going to town on the entire army (all 24 models, LOL!) So, here’s a few pics so that you can see what I got going on. It’s still a WIP so there’s gonna be some changes / additions to it but it’s the best I could do with 1.5 hours of free time (less 20ish minutes for set up / teardown time of my painting station). More to come soon.

Once this guy is complete, I plan on having Belial, either a Librarian or Chaplain (I have both), 4 units of Deathwing Terminators, 2 Land Raider Crusaders, and a Dreadnought. I’ve always enjoyed the Deathwing army and how they are a small, assault army. Plus, it gives me a chance to spend more time on each model and really pay attention to detail. I have some cool conversions in mind also. Anyways, check out what I got so far and let me know what you think. Peace!

2 thoughts on “40K Chronicles: WIP Deathwing Terminator.

  1. That is really, really good stuff. I couldn’t do that if I spent weeks on a model, never mind an hour or so. I’m very impressed.

    Good luck on the real life too. It’s more important, but less useful for blogging.

  2. It’s one of the things I’ve always been good at… painting quickly. Sometimes it really shows cuz there’s a lotta stuff left out but for the most part, the minis come out looking pretty cool. Thanks for the compliment.

    Yea, stupid RL… getting in the way of my gaming!

Leave a Reply

