Tales from the Jungle: “Do you Display Board?”

Used without permission.

So if you’ve followed my blog before (and many thanks if you have) then you’ve noticed that we’ve tried to kick off our “Look Out, Sir!” blog in addition to our individual ones… Sadly, this is a lost cause because it becomes too difficult with all of us being apart from each other as well as dealing with the daily hustle and bustle of life. So, I have broken off from that blog and have decided to get back to fully investing in this one… my very first one, The Jungles of Lustria. I am going to try to come out with weekly articles, painting updates, and other things. So please… check back often as I will get this going on my own, with links to my brother’s blog, Horned Rat Rob. We are going to try to double team this thing and get back to doing what we do best: Painting and playing this wonderful game of Warhammer. To start things off, I wanted to get your thoughts on something. It’s something that I’ve thought about for awhile and so decided to put it into a blog. So, to begin, here’s my first weekly article (rant) in the critically acclaimed “Tales from the Jungle: Do you Display Board?”

I’ve played in many Grand Tournaments and have met many awesome players through this hobby. One of the most enjoyable parts for me is participating in these huge events and seeing what everybody else has done to make their army unique. Whether it’s one-of-a-kind shoulder pads on Space Marines, excellent green stuffing, or vastly converted armies and models, one thing is for certain, the painter spent a lot of time on his/her army to make it stand out from the rest. One of the growing trends, though, that I have noticed in the GT circuit is the use of display boards. It has grown into one of the biggest trends I believe I’ve seen in this hobby, rivaling even the unique model bases on every model in the army. It has grown so much so that it has almost become a necessity in order to win a top spot. Admittedly, I have created a display board or two in my day but the only reason I have is because I want a chance to win it all. I feel as though it’s not even attainable if you don’t have one. I’ve even noticed that in some cases, the display board looks better than the entire army! Like they spent all their time working on the board as opposed to the individual models! It’s a trend that I don’t necessarily agree with but one that I feel I have to embrace, especially if I’m aiming for a top spot.

So I’ve gone through and decided to give a quick synopsis on the pros and cons of creating a unique display board for your army:

Pro’s:
– Brings the entire army together as a whole. (You can use pieces of terrain on your display board to fit in with your army’s theme to tie it all in.)
– Doubles as a movement tray! (A lifesaver in tournaments!)
– Definite “cool” factor.

Con’s:
– You’ve spent months trying to finish your army… now you need to create a display board?!?
– It’s really a necessity if you participate in the GT Circuit.
– If you travel (especially on airplanes) to get to your GT destination – it can be a hassle.
– Depending on how much time you spend on your display board, it could take away from your entire army if you have IT painted / decorated better than your army.

Below are some examples of display boards, and even one that I have created for my army in the past. They can really make an army look (even more) awesome if it helps to tie in on the theme of the army… like a Space Wolves army mounted on a snow-covered display board… or a Chaos Khorne army surrounded by the skulls of their opponents… Really just depends on how immaculate you want to go on your creativity. You can just get a piece of plywood and spray it black and call it a display board or get out the foam cutter and decorate it all up to show exactly what you want. It’s all up to you… So, have you joined the recent trend in Warhammer and Warhammer 40K? Do you display board?!?
6 thoughts on “Tales from the Jungle: “Do you Display Board?”

  1. I’ve never played in a tournament so I’m not really qualified to make much comment on the actual article (except that it’s good to see your excellent blog running again). But I will say that your display board looks very nice.

    I suppose that the question is about whether people are focussing on the display board to the exclusion of the miniatures or if (as in your case) the whole package is done well.

    • Yo Argentbadger – thanks for following the blog! It is much appreciated! Thanks for the comment on the display board. That was my favorite display board but sadly, when I left Dallas, I forgot it there at my sister’s house and it’s now in pieces… sigh… Oh well, gives me motivation to make a newer, better one!

      True. I’ve seen some real nice ones that don’t take away from the army at all and others that make you say “Man, if only he would’ve spent the same amount of time on his models as he did his display board…” As always with painting, its in the eye of the beholder.

  2. It is great to see you blogging again. I look forward to seeing more. As far as display boards go, I struggle to get my army painted and don’t make it to many tournaments (especially GTs) so, I have not joined the trend.

    I think that overall, they are a really cool idea, and I enjoy seeing the extra work that people like you put into them.
    I look forward to seeing your “new, better one!” 🙂

  3. I think they are a necessity. As a judge, most will just “walk right by” your army if it’s not on a display board. Even a beautifully painted army can get walked by without a board. These things are necessary and if a person wants to take the tournament circuit seriously, then this is just part of that package. That said, I think they look great and make an army come together nicely. I like to see all the different types of boards and armies. It makes the tournament scene much better!

    HRR

  4. My new WHFB daemonette army will have a display board. Unless they anger me by being unplayable and I am forced to cast them back into the warp

  5. Pingback: Tales from the Jungle: “Grand Tournament Readiness 101″. « junglesoflustria

Leave a Reply

