The Road to Games Day 2011: A Thought turned into Reality…

Used without permission.

So after a brief conversation with the wife we have decided that this year’s Games Day 2011, which will be held in Chicago, Illinois, will be the first one that I get the opportunity to attend! It just so happens that we have very good friends of ours that live there and since we haven’t visited in a while it didn’t take much convincing to get her to agree. So we’ll pack up, take the 2 hour flight to Chicago, visit some old friends and I’ll get the opportunity to attend my first ever Games Day!

After perusing the GW website and gaining some knowledge about all of the things that will be going on that weekend, I have decided to start working on some things in preparation for attending the weekend event. Now I know that I’m not as good of a painter as a lot of those guys that will be participating in the Golden Demon painting competition, but I do have SOME skills and will be putting them to use. There are two events that I have decided I’m going to enter while in attendance: 1) I’m going to enter a unit of Saurus Warriors into the “Best Fantasy Regiment” portion of the Golden Demon competition and, 2) submit my entire army into the “Armies on Parade” event that will be judged on and resolved that day!

The first one – the Best Regiment – I’m going to start on a mini-series of sorts that shows my progression of a now painted Saurus Warrior Regiment and how it (hopefully) evolves into Golden Demon quality. I’m going to pull out all of the stops and work hard on this unit, hopefully getting it to a very high quality and get it ready to be judged in Chicago! I believe I am a good painter but this will test my skill to the limit, so it’s going to be interesting. I’ll have both before and after pictures and share some techinques along the way, all the while hoping to get some input from you guys on things that you may recommend / comment on / etc.

The second one – Armies on Parade – is a competition that GW is going to be holding during the weekend that will bring winners from other hobby centers and put them all against each other. You basically have to create a display board and put your entire army on display, no bigger than a 2×2 board, and show it off. All of the finalists in attendance will then vote on the best and GW will reveal the winners based off of those votes. I am also going to be creating a new display board in that time and show start to finish pictures along the way….

So as you can tell, I have a lot to do in about a month’s time. Games Day Chicago is held on Saturday, July 30th, so it gives me roughly a month to complete the things that I want to. I will be updating this blog with all the stuff related to this event and show you how I’m doing along the way. For right now, I first have to actually purchase the plane tickets and the Games Day ticket! I should be able to do that this week so once that’s done it will be a done deal. Make sure to check back, there’s going to be a lot of activity in the next month! I gotta get started!

3 thoughts on “The Road to Games Day 2011: A Thought turned into Reality…

    • Yo Kurt! That sucks that you didn’t make it to the Bugeater. I heard that we did pretty well up there. Hopefully you guys can get some stuff started back there so that way we have some good tournaments in the future! I’ll be there soon man, we need to get in a game!

  1. Pingback: The Road to Games Day 2011: Work-in-progress Spear Saurus Unit Filler… « junglesoflustria

Leave a Reply

