The Road to Games Day 2011: Work-in-progress Spear Saurus Unit Filler (Update #2)…

Used without permission.

I finally got around to doing some work on this Saurus Spear Unit Filler today… I was gone last weekend visiting the fam and was still recovering this entire week at work because of all the the fun we had when we were together. So this morning I woke up and was determined to get some more progress done on this unit. If you’ll recall, I plan on putting this unit into the Golden Demon painting competition at this year’s Games Day (See previous post about me getting my ticket in the mail, woot!) Well I was able to get some work done on it and time got the best of me as we had to make a mandatory trip to the pool then are going out with some friends tonight. So, I will hopefully finish it up tomorrow morning when I wake up and then go back through the entire unit and make the finishing touches to it all.

So anyways, I went back and sculpted some vines to literally wrap all around the pillars and even the dead log that lies to the right of the piece. I put some small leaves coming out of each of the vines to give it a better appearance and, even though vines are simple to do, I was pleased with the way it looks. The pics that I have now are the vines unpainted, so I’ll get those done tomorrow. I went with an old, weathered look on the pillars to give an appearance as though they have been around since the beginning of time, when the Old Ones willed the Saurus to build them at their feet. I think the overgrowth of vines shows that they’ve been around for several milennia as well.

The Saurus that you see in the picture is going to be the only soldier on the “diorama”. Since last working on this I’ve come up with a few other ideas on how to finish this. What I think I’m going to show is the Saurus Warrior on the steps, in defense position and a nest of Cold One eggs where the old log is… I would like to have a few Skinks shown carrying off one of the eggs, taking it back to their temples to raise it from birth to be the cold blooded killing machines that they are in battle. I have a few skinks laying around and I thought it’d be a good idea, showing the Saurus prodding the skinks to take the egg away as he looks around to ensure that the mother of the Cold One eggs is nowhere near… It may be hard to envision but I’ll have more tomorrow so you’ll be able to see what I’m talking about. Anyways, here’s what’s done so far… try to imagine it if you can… thanks and make sure to check back tomorrow, I’m determined to finish it up.

Leave a Reply

