Games Day 2011: Final Report Out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So Games Day 2011 has come and gone and I was definitely glad to be apart of it. It was unlike anything I have ever been to before. The venue was so freakin’ big it was ridiculous. There were certain points throughout the day (and by certain points, I mean every 20 minutes) when different groups were asked to do a WAAAAGGGHHH! and because the area was so big you could barely hear it if you were on the opposite end of the room. It was incredible. There were so many different things to see and do. They had Big Games of LOTR, Warhammer 40k, and Warhammer Fantasy and if you participated in it you were certain to walk away with some type of swag… The special guests were all on hand too, and they had the new ‘Eavy Metal Vampire Counts models on display…. looks like some amazing stuff. There was also the Armies on Parade portion of the event, which brought forth some of the most impressive armies I’ve ever seen all together in one place. Some people went above and beyond when it came to displaying their army. I believe the person that won it all was definitely worthy. His army was absolutely incredible (and, fittingly, it was a Lizardmen army… just sayin’…)

I participated in the Speed Painting Competition and painted up a Space Marine in 30 minutes. The prize was to get tickets which you then turned into the “Carnival of Chaos”, which was set up as carnival games that you played in order to win swag. I only got an Imperial Folder but they gave away a ton of boxed sets throughout the day. Needless to say, those things went away in a hurry.

The one thing that I regret to say I didn’t get to participate in was going through the Forgeworld store. They literally had a retail store set up in the hall and the line was never shorter than 200 people… It was constantly packed until the end of the day. I’m not even sure I would have bought anything but I wish I would have been able to at least look around. I guess I didn’t feel like standing in line for over an hour… Oh well, there’s always next year.

The way the convention was set up was that everything was located on the first floor except the Golden Demon painting competition, it was upstairs on the second floor. I made my way up there and looked over all the amazing stuff that was in there as soon as I walked into the convention. For me, that was the whole reason for going… to be able to see some of the best painted miniatures on Earth. It was incredible to see the amount of detail that these guys go into. Also, the conversion work on a lot of the models was exceptional. There are some people out there that are just truly gifted when it comes to this type of stuff. So anyways, I made sure to take a look at all of the stuff there to get some inspiration for my future projects. It was very cool. I made sure to snap a lot of pics that will be located at the end of this post. Be sure to check it out. Turns out that I thought I had snapped a ton of pictures but I’m way short compared to other people that I know were there. Anyways, I’ve posted all that I have, including some of the new VC stuff, the winner of the Armies on Parade, and the Thunder Lizard in all it’s monstrous glory. I got the chance to meet the owner / painter / converter of the Thunder Lizard, as we both frequent the Lustria Online forums… We both knew we were going to be there so we decided to meet up. His army was very cool and it made it through the last chance qualifier into the finals for the Armies on Parade. As mentioned earlier, another Lizardmen player took 1st place… so, for those of you keeping count… that’s Lizardmen armies going 1st and 2nd place… Just sayin’…

Also ran into an old buddy of mine that used to be part of our gaming group when we were in Kansas. He lives in Chicago now and he and his buddies were there. So, we ran into each other, caught up on what’s been going on the last few years, and then went to go eat and have a few beers. It was good times and we exchanged numbers so that we’ll keep in touch this time. It was cool to get to see him again and reminisce about all the good times we used to have at the shop in Kansas.The SM that I painted in the Speed Competition.

The SM I painted for the Speed Painting Competition.

So my thoughts, all in all, is that it is truly the mecca of this hobby. I’m not so sure I’d make the trip each and every year just to participate but if you are local you should definitely attend. There’s so many things to do while you’re there and you can get caught up playing a game and easily lose track of the time. The GW staff is giving out lots of prizes throughout the day so you literally had to put in a little bit of effort and the $25 you put in on your ticket has already paid for itself. I participated in the Speed Painting competition and finished off a Space Marine (as stated earlier). I’ve attached a pic of that so you can see what I did in right around 30 minutes… with crappy brushes I might add…

Lastly, if you’ve been following my blog you know that I’ve been working on my Saurus Unit Filler and that I wanted to get the chance to enter it into the Golden Demon painting competition. It turns out that you had to have entries in by 11 o’clock and I showed up right around 11:30… luckily for me the guy let me go ahead and enter it in. So I filled out the paperwork and he moved it over to the appropriate category box. They kept the mini’s there until 2:00PM… and the news was that if you’re models were available at that time then that means you didn’t make the cut… Needless to say mine was there when I went back up around 2:30. I was not disappointed at all, though. I got plenty of compliments about the unit filler and how original it was and that was enough to make me feel good about my work. Going into it I knew I still needed a lot of work on my models for them to come even close to making the first cut, let alone win anything. So I knew it was a long shot from the word go. Plus, some of these models at the painting competition were freakin’ amazing. Some guys painting skills are just ridiculous. But I took it as a way for me to practice harder at painting and try using some different techniques. So that’s what I’m going to do going forward.

Some SWAG I received throughout the day.

Now that Games Day 2011 is over with it’s onto the tournament circuit. I’m already signed up to play in the NOVA GT and I’m thinking of signing up for another one that’s close by that takes place in September. So I need to finish off my Lizardmen army and get it all together and then I’ll take it to each of these GT’s. After that, it’s finally on to finishing up my Deathwing. I’m hoping to get very busy over the next few months so I’ll have a lot of updates on projects over the next several weeks. I had a blast in Chicago and would definitely go back next year if I’m able to. Enjoy the pics and let me know what you think. Until next time, keep the paint brushes moving! Peace!

4 thoughts on “Games Day 2011: Final Report Out.

  1. Wish I coulda been there, too! Looks like you had a good time though. What is that GD model you got? Didn’t you say its a Skaven? I’ll take it! I’m gonna have to make this one of these years!

    HRR

    • Yea, it’s a skaven model so I have absolutely no use for it. I’ll drop it in the mail tomorrow. Also, I’m gonna need you to pack up my display board and send it to me. I have the NOVA GT at the end of this month. Can you do that for me?

Leave a Reply

