Mercs for Hire: Horgenhold Forge Guard!

Used without permission.

Next up on the painting block is the Horgenhold Forge Guard. I really like the punch that these guys pack on the battlefield and their 2″ reach is nothing to sneeze at. They are elite hand-to-hand warriors and are a very good addition to a Merc army. I run with a total of 6 in my current army but will, at some point, probably up that to 10. They have a few special abilities that makes them worth their points. They are, however, very easy to hit… which is one of their drawbacks. But taking the good with the bad is part of the game I suppose. So anyways I decided to get these guys painted in preparation for this week’s battle report. So another of the Merc “to be painted” candidates falls off the list. I’m moving right along!

I chose to go with a brown colored armor that was really just highlighted using a drybrush technique. I picked out all the bolts and metal things then gave a good wash of Devlan Mud. That is some of the best ink I’ve ever used… it works wonders. Anyways, I picked out some of the details on the hammers to make them stand out a bit and used a blue wash to give an “energy” type of feel. It’s hard to see in these pics but it’s there, I promise! Also, in these pictures the bases are not completed. I wasn’t finished with them at the time I took these pics but they are all done now and I’ll have them glued onto them today. So I’m going to count these guys as 100% complete as of the typing of this post.

Meanwhile, I was picking at the Ghordson Avalancher while letting some of the paint on the Forge Guard dry. So that one is about 60% complete and I’ll have him done today as well. More pics to come of the Avalancher once it’s complete so look for another update this afternoon! Almost have the list nearly complete, though, I did add 2 more units to the mix that now need to be painted in order for me to fill out my 50 point list for the upcoming tournament in Virginia. So, now I have Grun Cragback & Lug and a Ghordson Basher added to the list… Oh well, I have until December 17th so that gives me plenty of time to get these guys all painted up.

Here’s an update on what all has been completed and what is left to be done. Enjoy the pics and please let me know what you think. As always, thanks for reading!

– Gorten Grundback

– Durgen Madhammer

Ghordson Driller

Ghordson Driller

Grundback Gunner

Grundback Gunner

– 8 Hammerfall High Shields (Captain & Standard Bearer included)

– 6 Horgenhold Forge Guard

– 1 Avalancher (Next!)

– 1 Ogrun Bokur

– 1 Ogrun Bokur

– Thor Steinhammer

– Grun Cragback & Lug

– 1 Ghordson Basher

2 thoughts on “Mercs for Hire: Horgenhold Forge Guard!

  1. I really like the painting scheme you have on this army. In this light, it looks a little dull; would it be possible to get some shots under daylight or similar brightness? The colouring nicely ties the army together.

  2. Thanks for the comment! I know what you mean… these pics are not the greatest and it never fails that when I’m ready to take pictures it’s already dark outside… I’ll try to get some day pics so that these come out better. Once it’s all done I’ll get a full army pic… in the daylight… I’m really enjoying painting this army and being able to use different colors… to me, it really drives home that “Mercenary” feel to it…

Leave a Reply

