Mercs for Hire: Durgen Madhammer Arises!

Used without permission.

Woke up this morning and instantly felt like painting… I’m so close to having this army done that I can feel so my motivation for painting is at an all time high right now. You know that feeling you get when you’re about to have it all done, right? Well that’s what I have right now. I must admit that the Hammerfall High Shields are a little bit intimidating… I hate painting units. I’ll have to tough my way through them when they come around. Sadly, I think I’m going to wait to paint them until the end… I just can’t get that motivated to paint them… On a side note… I timed myself for this guy… Started at 7:58 AM and ended at 10:37 AM. Woot!

Anyways, so I’ve been wanting to try out Durgen Madhammer in a game and I hate playing with models that are unpainted… So I went ahead and got started on Durgen this morning. I decided to go with the same Graveyard Earth color that I went with on both the Avalancher and the Forge Guard. I’m please with the way this model turned out. I think I did as good a job as I could possibly do on the eye too… That was definitely one of the smallest details I’ve ever seen on a miniature. I also picked out some gems that circle Madhammer’s Hammer.

After reading up on some fluff about Durgen, it seems that he’s very high strung and likes to blow things up. He generates one more focus than Gorten but his jack allowance is one less… so it’s a give and take kind of thing. Just comparing both the warcaster’s cards, I think Gorten is better… but you can never really tell something when reading it on paper… you have to put it into practice. Which is why I decided to get him painted and done! Also, Durgen Madhammer seems like he has all sorts of contraptions attached to him… bombs or some type of explosive and also lots of wires… I had an extra strand of old guitar string so I decided to make it coming out of his cannon and attach to the back of his suit. At some point, I’ll also attach the hammer but I had that piece already cut out from a previous project so it was conveniently cut to fit as it was… I think adding the guitar string is a very simple, yet effective addition to the model, and really helps to add character to him. Anyways, I’ve updated the ‘what’s left to do’ list and have put in some pics so you can see the progress. As always, thanks for reading.

Here’s an updated list of what’s left to be done for my Merc army:

– Gorten Grundback

Durgen Madhammer

Ghordson Driller

Ghordson Driller

Grundback Gunner

Grundback Gunner

– 8 Hammerfall High Shields (Captain & Standard Bearer included)

6 Horgenhold Forge Guard

1 Avalancher

– 1 Ogrun Bokur

– Thor Steinhammer

Grun Cragback & Lug

–  Joln Rockbottom

1 Ghordson Basher


2 thoughts on “Mercs for Hire: Durgen Madhammer Arises!

  1. Turned out good. You picked out alot of the details that I didn’t, lol. Madhammer is a good caster and he makes the mercs pretty solid. I really like having him lead my force!

    HRR

Leave a Reply

