Mercs for Hire: 3 for 1 Special!

Used without permission.

Ok, so today’s deal is going to be a three-for-one special! This upcoming weekend (December 17) is the Steamroller Tournament that I’ve been prepping for and I decided to get even closer to finishing up my Merc army. Over the weekend I was able to knock out the Ogrun Bokur, a Grundback Blaster, and Thor Steinhammer. This only leaves me a few more models left to paint, and having the rest of this week is plenty of time to having it done. I am looking at finishing up the Hammerfall High Shields tomorrow so that I have a few days to finish working on the other essential items that are needed for Warmachine / Hordes. (I plan on making some homemade markers for spells, effects, etc to use for my army… Have a simple idea in mind, just gotta put it in motion…)

Anyways, first up was the Ogrun Bokur. I plan on using this guy as either Durgen’s or Gorten’s personal bodyguard and have him take those few extra shots that get sent his way during the course of a game… He’s only 3 points and is able to do a lot for that amount of points. I happen to have 2 of these models, but they are different sculpts… this sculpt is much bigger and makes the Bokur look even meaner so I decided to go with this one. In keeping in tune with the theme of the Merc army that I have so far, I used a lot of similar colors to help tie him in. And the green skin tone is actually the same Camo Green that I’ve used on countless other models in the army. All in all, I am pleased with the way he turned out.

The other one was Thor Steinhammer. I like his abilities more and more each time I play a game with him. He is able to really help out the warjacks that he chooses to marshal and can give some great abilities during the game. I was kinda intimiated about painting this model because there’s so many metal parts on it and I was afraid it wasn’t going to have enough detail to make it stand out. I was able to use enough different metal colors to make it look good and, as always, the Devlan Mud wash is a freakin’ thing of beauty. Hands down the best ink I’ve ever used…

Lastly, I added a Grundback Blaster to my army list. These guys are good for anti-infantry models due to their spray template. They work really well with Gorten Grundback and even without getting a focus for the boost can still hurt lightly armoured infantry. I decided to paint him the same color scheme as the other Driller that I did in the same gray color. Fittingly, I added the teeth in the front of it just like the Driller as well… really helps to tie ’em in.

So far, I only have 9 models left and I will be completely done with my Mercs army. I’m thinking I’m going to move to 40k and work on my Deathwing army after that… but who knows what will present itself when I get there. I’m hoping to have at least 1 win this weekend because, since I’m still very much learning the game, that will really go to show that I’m progressing. I’m sure there’s going to be a lot of things that I forget about or have to be reminded of. It’s going to be a learning experience for me but I’m looking forward to playing competitively. Anyways, below is what’s left to paint. As always, thanks for looking!

Here’s an updated list of what’s left to be done for my Merc army:

– Gorten Grundback

Durgen Madhammer

Ghordson Driller

Ghordson Driller

Grundback Gunner

Grundback Gunner

– 8 Hammerfall High Shields (Captain & Standard Bearer included)

6 Horgenhold Forge Guard

1 Avalancher

1 Ogrun Bokur

Thor Steinhammer

Grun Cragback & Lug

1 Grundback Blaster

–  Joln Rockbottom

1 Ghordson Basher

One thought on “Mercs for Hire: 3 for 1 Special!

  1. Pingback: Warriors of Chaos: change you can trust. | The nerd also rises

Leave a Reply

