2012 New Years Gaming Resolutions!

Used without permission.

Well… 2011 has finally come to an end and as I look back on all of the things I accomplished (professionally and personally) I feel like it was a very good year for me. I first started on this blog here in January of 2011 thanks to some good friends of mine and, even though they have slacked off in keeping up with their blogs, I am still going strong after a year. My first ever blog post to this site was on January 1, 2011 so my blog is now officially 1 year old! Thank you to the many followers and friends that I have that keep up with my blog… it really keeps me inspired to know that other people are looking at the progress of the projects I’m working on. So to recap on some of the things that were accomplished in 2011, I thought I’d compile this list:

– Finished painting over 6,000 points of Lizardmen

– Attended my first ever Games Day

– Created the Look Out Sir Forums!

– Competed in 2 major Warhammer Tournaments (Seattle Slaughter & NOVA Open)

– Started playing Warmachine (again)

– Actually competed in my first ever Warmachine tournament

– Painted an entire 50 point Mercenary Army

Even though that doesn’t seem like a huge list of things I’m still very proud of all that I accomplished throughout the year. I relocated to a different part of the country and it made it very difficult to get in some good painting days and even more difficult to actually play the game… I was, however, able to end 2011 on the right note and playing games where it all started for me… Wichita, Kansas. On December 30, me and some of my old gaming buddies were able to play a game of Death Arena (WHFB Lords vs. Lords games), WHFB where my Lizardmen took on (and defeated) Kurt’s Ogre Kingdoms, and then played a few games of WarmaHordes. It was a great way to finish off the year and I’m glad I was able to hook back up with my old gaming group. It has inspired me to keep this thing going and give even more progress on things that I’m working on. So to that end, I’ve decided that this year I’m going to come up with a list of 2012 Gaming Resolutions that I will probably give monthly updates on. The idea is to keep myself motivated so that I can get everything done and give myself realistic, attainable goals for the year. I’ve thought a while about it and I think I have it. So, here’s the 2012 Gaming Resolutions for iggykoopa:

– Paint 50 points of Trollbloods (WarmaHordes)

– Paint 2,500 points of Orcs & Goblins (Warhammer Fantasy)

– Paint 2,000 points of Deathwing (Warhammer 40K)

– Attend Games Day 2012

– Attend at least 2 major Warhammer Tournaments

– Attend at least 3 local WarmaHordes Tournaments (maybe 1 major one…)

– Attend Adepticon (This may be a little tougher than I anticipate… we’ll see…)

– Paint 35 points of Khador

– Start a new Warhammer Fantasy army

That’s what I’ve come up with so far. Only time will tell if I can get it all done. I’m going to give monthly updates as to where I am on all of this throughout the year so make sure to check back and leave a comment to keep me motivated. I believe first on the list is the Deathwing then follow that up with the Trollbloods. I may even mix the 2 together to give myself some relief from painting the same color over and over. CTK and I are talking about starting a Warhammer 40k campaign so I’ll need to get to work on my Deathwing soon. As always, there will be plenty of pics and articles on the way to keep everybody up to speed with where I’m at. Thanks again for following and remember to keep those paintbrushes going! Here’s to a great 2012!

5 thoughts on “2012 New Years Gaming Resolutions!

  1. While the list of things that you did might not seem huge, I think it is pretty good for a year. Besides, “Finished painting over 6,000 points of Lizardmen” could actually look much larger if broken down into the individual models/units that you completed. I will be extremely happy when I reach that point with my elves.
    I look forward to seeing all of your work in the coming year.

  2. That’s a pretty good set of achievements for one year, certainly more painting than I managed by a good margin. Good luck keeping your 2012 resolutions, there seem to be a lot of them. I look forward to seeing your painted miniatures on this blog.

  3. amazing man!
    good to keep yourself motivated and have goals.
    your Mercs, warmachines are inspiring me to play Cryx

    you should check out Quake City Rumble! it’s in SF and registration is open NOW! they fill up fast

    -nerdalsorises

  4. Pingback: 2012 Gaming Resolutions Update #1. « junglesoflustria

Leave a Reply

