40K Chronicles: Deathwing Squad Infernus Complete.

Used without permission.

In preparation for the upcoming Warhammer 40k tournament at The Game Vault, I am slowly starting to finish off my Deathwing army and in doing so I finished off the first of 4 Terminator Squads. I give to you… the well-equipped-for-an-assault Deathwing Squad Infernus! If you looked at my post with the lightbox you’ll have already seen the veteran sergeant in that one. The bases are from Dragon Forge and my entire Deathwing army will be equipped with them. Very good investment. I really like the work this guy does… Now here’s the rest of the squad to fill it out!

In gaming terms, I put these guys into a Land Raider Crusader with a Chaplain! The Chaplain, because of his special rule Litanies of Hate, gets to re-roll failed rolls To Hit on the charge. And because they have lightning claws they are already re-rolling failed rolls To Wound. That means, when this unit gets off the charge, we’re talking about 24 re-rollable failed To Hit and To Wound Power Weapon attacks… Nasty! Here’s a slightly different angle of Squad Infernus:

Deathwing Assault Squad Infernus.

And 2 of the regular Deathwing:

And the 2 others:

Lastly, here’s a pic of the Sergeant, which is pretty much identical to the one I posted a few days ago:

Veteran Sergeant Laertes.

I plan on putting banners on each of the squad sergeants to signify who’s who. I will do that eventually, I just wanted to get ’em done first though. Also, the Deathwing banner will be separate from the regular standards in the army when it’s done. Next up is the Chaplain. Should be an update later this week. Let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “40K Chronicles: Deathwing Squad Infernus Complete.

    • Thanks Ron! The tournament is on February 18th… which means I have a little over 2 weeks to paint up the rest of the army… including 2 Land Raider Crusaders! I can do it though… I’ve done much more with much less time…

  1. Lovely painting.

    How do you rate the Dragon Forge bases? Are they expensive enough that they should only be considered for small elite armies like Deathwing, or do you think that the cost could be worth it for other forces?

    • I’d rate them pretty highly, although I have no basis of comparison since these are the only bases I’ve ever bought that are custom. As far as sturdiness and craftsmanship, I’d say they’re up there… Easy to paint and little to no cleaning required. If you’re wanting to outfit an entire army of about 70ish models or so, it can get pretty pricey but I’d say it’s worth it, depending on how well you want your army to look. The scenic bases really make it stand out more if you ask me, so for me, especially having such a small army… it was well worth getting the bases.

Leave a Reply

