40K Chronicles: Deathwing Squad Barrage Complete!

Used without permission.

Continuing on the Deathwing trend this week I decided to knock out yet another squad of Deathwing Terminators. This particular squad is named Barrage and is quite fitting considering they are primarily used for ranged support. They’ve been equipped with Power Fists and Storm Bolters to add to some long range firepower, and then gave the squad the upgrade of the Cyclone Missile Launcher, to help with anti-tank abilities. The Cyclone Missile Launcher is one of my favorite models in the entire game… and being able to field them in a Deathwing army I use them as much as I can, so you will definitely see at least one more in this army. Because the termies can be equipped with either SB/PF or TH/SS – Lightning Claw combos, I decided to give the Missile Launcher Terminator the Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield combo, giving him a little better staying power as well as some offensive output, should this unit get into HtH combat (which is very likely…)

So yea… it’s been hard for me to get over the hump of constantly painting bone armour… so I’m going to mix it up and start on one of the Land Raider Crusaders next. I might even throw in a Trollblood or two… but I’m really wanting to finish off this army so I can have it 100% complete… I went ahead and got the basecoats of all the remaining terminators done… so that at least helps me there… so I really just have details to pick out on the other 2 squads, less a little bit of armour touch-up. Anyways, check back soon because I hope to have the Crusader done by this weekend. Here’s a pic of Deathwing Terminator Squad Barrage:

Terminator Squad Barrage.

And here’s some close-ups of the Captain and one of the Terminators:

And the Cyclone Missle Launcher and another with Storm Bolter & Power Fist:

When the Space Hulk game came out a few years ago I wanted to get my hands on it but it came and went pretty quickly, as people swooped it up with the quickness… I remember asking for it and people laughing at me, saying there was no way I could get it because it was already sold out. Well… the reason wasn’t so much for the game as it is for the actual Terminators that come with the box. They have very dynamic poses and fit in perfectly with an All-Terminator Deathwing army. Fast forward a few years and I’m able to find a couple of them – for cheap – on eBay! So one of them is in the squad and this is the guy who has the severed Tyranid head in his left power fist hand… One of my favorite models and an excellent standout model to go with my army, I think. So here’s that model, which fits in nicely with the army:

Brother Savionne, showing what he's capable of...

Here’s another shot of him:

And another:

And one more of the entire squad again, with a slightly different angle:

Lastly, for those of you keeping track, here’s what’s left to paint to complete my Deathwing army:

– Deathwing Grandmaster Belial

– Chaplain Cassius

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Infernus)

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Barrage)

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Nike)

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Nixxus)

– 1 Dreadnought

– Land Raider Crusader (Next!)

– Land Raider Crusader

Leave a Reply

