Lizardmen Retirement Party – March 20, 2013.

Used without permission.

Used without permission.

The time has come… After many long, long years of the Lizardmen strapping on their gold plated armor and brandishing their primitive, stone-made weapons, they are finally heading towards the lighter side of life, and have submitted their paperwork for retirement. That’s right, the army that I’ve played with since I first began playing this game over 13 years ago is finally getting a long awaited retirement party: The Display Case. Before I go any further, I want to give many thanks to Oldblood Qett’l-Korn, who has single-handedly piked the heads of Chaos Lords, Dark Elf Masters, Orc Warbosses, and many, many others. And Bro’qin Bot’l, the ancient Scar-Veteran who has – time and time again – carried the sacred Battle Standard to the fields of war, all while never letting it touch the ground…  And also Ho’qus Po’qus, who has been carried to battle on his Ancient Stegadon for several years and delivered divine Heavens magic upon many of the Lizardmen’s foes… To each of these revered Lizardmen leaders, as well as a slew of the rest of the Lizardmen army, I give thanks…

The Lizardmen's new retirement home...

The Lizardmen’s new retirement home…

I have well over 6,500 points of PAINTED Lizardmen, and, after many years of playing with these guys – all the way back from 5th edition – I think the time has come to officially retire them. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to pack them up and play some games with them, but for now, they are being put on display in the glass case. They will never be truly retired, but now I’m going to focus on some of the other armies I have on the waiting list, namely my Daemons of Chaos, Beastmen, and Deathwing. I’ve devoted a lot of time and energy to this army and it’s truly my pride and joy… but now it’s time to change the scenery a bit and go for something completely different. (Not rolling 3 dice for Leadership tests is going to be a huge change!!!) I’ve enjoyed playing Lizardmen and they will always hold a special place in my heart… Although I’ve never kept true track of overall win/loss record… I’d like to think that I’m somewhere around the .500 mark with them. I’ve suffered massive slaughters with them, and have also dished them out. I’ve truly had some very memorable games with this army and I’m actually looking forward to the break and getting to know another army inside and out. So the West Coast GT was the Lizardmen’s last trip to a GT (at least for a while) and a new army will rise in their place.

Time to say goodbye… and start something new. Be on the lookout for my Daemons of Chaos and Beastmen armies… both coming soon! (I started gluing them together and making movement trays, simultaneously!)

2 thoughts on “Lizardmen Retirement Party – March 20, 2013.

  1. Man, that almost brings a tear to my eye. I know it’s not the end of them but it’s still a little emotional! Looking forward to see what your next project will be.

Leave a Reply

