40K Chronicles: Deathwing Land Raider Crusader finished!

Used without permission.

Used without permission.

Woke up this Saturday morning and decided I’d knock out one of the Land Raider Crusader tanks… You ever had that moment where you wake up and you can’t go back to sleep and then you decide you’re better off just getting up and being productive? Well that’s exactly what happened to me this past weekend… I woke up about 5:45 AM on Saturday morning and tried my best to go back to sleep… My body is so used to waking up early because of my work schedule that I’m programmed to rise early. So after tossing and turning (and annoying my wife) I finally decided to get up about 6:05 and start to work on the latest addition to the Deathwing army. So now I give to you my Saturday morning work, the Land Raider Crusader:

crusader7

I have decided that since I have 2 Land Raiders in my army I’m going to paint one in the traditional Dark Angels Green and another in the true Deathwing fashion. I’d like to think that the Deathwing are borrowing one from the main Dark Angels armory while another is getting serviced or repaired. Plus, I think having a DA Green Land Raider Crusader looks really cool and gives the overall feel of the army to it. So I have decided to paint this first Crusader in the old school Dark Angels green… and picked out the small square areas that run throughout the tank the well-known Bone color that the Deathwing have become famous for, to show that it all ties in. Here’s a couple pics:

crusader6

crusader4

In keeping in line with the rest of the army, I’ve painted the Hurricane Bolters in red as well as the Multi-Melta that sits on top. I like how that bright red color pops out against the rest of the colors of the army. I think it’s been a nice touch. Here’s a few more:

crusader

crusader5

I was able to knock this tank out in about 3 hours and if it wasn’t for me having to run the wife to work and then watch the kids the rest of the afternoon I would’ve been able to finish off the Dreadnought as well ( I got about 80% done with it…) So now I’m working on finishing Horatio up and I’ll have another post within a day or two to show his completion status. After going through the DA book I noticed that they added a new Deathwing Knight unit to the Elites section. I found out that these guys are basically some of the baddest mofo’s out there in Terminator Armour so I had to pick up a box and they are in the assembly stage. Because of this, I’ve added them to the army and have removed one of the traditional Deathwing Terminator squads. So I’ve updated the list below. I will get the Deathwing Knights knocked out real soon as well. I can almost feel it! Nearly done with this entire army!

crusader2

Lastly, for those of you keeping track, here’s what’s left to paint to complete my Deathwing army:

– Deathwing Grandmaster Belial

– Chaplain Cassius in Terminator Armor

– Librarian Targaryus in Terminator Armor

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Infernus)

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Barrage)

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Nike)

– 5 man Terminator Squad (Nixxus – Removed because of the inclusion of the Deathwing Knights)

– 1 Dreadnought (Horatio)

– 5 man Terminator Deathwing Knights Squad (Name needs to be chosen)

– 1 Dreadnought (Horatio – New! 80% Complete!)

– Land Raider Crusader

– Land Raider Crusader

2 thoughts on “40K Chronicles: Deathwing Land Raider Crusader finished!

  1. Lol, yea, for whatever reason HRR and I have been blessed with the ability to paint quickly… I finished the Dreadnought last night so another post is coming about that too. Not sure why but I can paint fast…

Leave a Reply

