The Original Spawning: Oldblood on Carnosaur Complete and Valentine’s Day Massacre Report Out!

funnydinoThis post is kinda late because I wanted to have this posted before this past Saturday’s Valentine’s Day Massacre, but I ran outta time so I’m going to make this both a post of my newest addition to my Lizardmen army and also include the details on the tournament that I participated in over the weekend. I’ll begin by saying I was very impressed with the outpouring of support we received from several different places across the Midwest. We had 7 guys come up from OKC, a couple from Manhattan, Kansas and even had a lone soldier come from Lawrence, Kansas… in total, we had 20 people and was one of the bigger (and better) tournaments to be had in Wichita in a long time. I really felt the nostalgia because we had so many new people in the building and it made for some excellent games and it definitely forged some new friendships (as well as friendly competition!)

So to start off with, I altered my list a few weeks ago and decided to run with dual Carnosaurs; 1 for the Battle Standard Bearer and 1 for the Oldblood (Thanks, new Lizardmen Army Book!) This means that the BSB range is now 18″ instead of 12″, since he’s mounted. And also, he’s riding a Carnosaur, which doesn’t suck…  I’ve always been a fan of a dinosaur list and like the idea of having all of the biggest things that the Lizardmen army book as to offer, so including yet another big dino – and a Carnosaur, at that – was simply too much for me to pass up. I don’t really like the new look of the plastic Carnosaur model… something about it that didn’t appeal to me… and if you recall, I used that model to assemble a Troglodon, anyways. However, lots of stuff was left over from the sprue so I happened to have a spare Carnosaur laying around (I like the metal model better, anyways) and took the Oldblood model, as well as some reins and the saddle and converted it so that he fits on old Carnosaur. Here’s some WIP from when I first started:

carnwip

After getting it all converted I set out to getting it painted and opted to go with a green and brown color scheme. I think it stands out among the rest of my army because the colors are very striking and loud. So I think for the Oldblood it fit him perfectly. Here’s some more pics of the painted Oldblood and Carnosaur:

carn7

carn

carn3

As for how things went during the tournament… well, I started out very well. It was a 3 game tournament and I started game 1 against an OKC gamer named Joe, and he had a Warriors of Chaos army. He did have Festus and some Nurgle Chaos Warriors, and it took me 1.5 units of Saurus to finally widdle ’em down. He did himself no favors as his Daemon Prince charged in but then miscast that same turn, sending him into the Warp. After that, all I had to do was clean house and it took all 6 turns but I was able to get a Massacre for the game. So a full 25 battle points. Game 2 was against another New World Order gamer name Mike, and he had a Vampire Counts army. I was worried at first because he had some ethereal creatures in his list and I have no magic weapons so I wasn’t going to be able to do any damage to him… And that is actually what happened. However, because my Oldblood is tough and hard to hit, I was able to kill him off because I kept winning combat resolution so it eventually killed them off. Otherwise, I would’ve been stuck in a combat I could not have won for the entirety of the game. In Turn 2, the Ancient Stegadon was able to destroy the Vampire Lord and thus started the undoing of the VC army, due to the crumbling rule. When he died, he took out a handful of other units in his wake, and that was the deciding factor of the game as well. All said and done, I got another Massacre and 23 Battle Points. Last game was against John Pike, who takes a pretty nasty High Elves army… We were both undefeated and the winner was going to take home the Beast Mode trophy… After some bad decisions by me and his taking advantage of those bad decisions, he was able to knock out my army pretty handily and all I had left were my 2 carnosaurs, a skink priest and my Terradons. It was Major Loss for me, so I ended up 2-1-0 and brought my 2014 record to 5-3-1, which isn’t bad.

carn4

carn8

I thought the tournament was excellent and was glad that we had such a good turnout. A lot of the guys that were in this tournament will also be participating in the Slobberknocker GT here in OKC next month, so you could say this tournament was a primer of sorts. There were tons of awesome armies there, and the Brettonia army that won Best Painted was by far one of the most immaculate armies I’ve ever seen. I think after this outing I’m going to finish up the Bastiladon and the Ripperdactyls then the Lizardmen will hit the shelves for a while. The Dwarfs book is now out and I’m ready to start playing with them and putting together a new list. I’ll continue to play the Lizards here and there because they are my “go to” army, but I’m going to focus on other projects going forward. My Deathwing is nearly complete so I’m sure I’ll get in some 40k games at some point as well…

Next up is the March Melee Madness Tournament at Hero Complex on March 15th, which will be the week before the Slobberknocker GT. So I’ll use that one to test out the Dwarfs list and get ready to go! Check back for other projects and report outs as we get into the thick of Tournament Season! As always, thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “The Original Spawning: Oldblood on Carnosaur Complete and Valentine’s Day Massacre Report Out!

  1. Yet another nice-looking model. I have to agree with you about the metal model over the plastic one. You should post a full army shot of what you took to the tournament.

    Congrats on the wins. It is unfortunate that you lost the final game, but it was nice to see a High Elf win it all. At least somebody needs to represent the High Elves well in the local scene.

    I think that your round 2 was against my round 1 opponent. How did you get through all of the Regen that he had, or did the crumble take care of that for you?

    • Thanks Flames! I’m glad you got to make it out to the tournament. And btw, I’ll never condone the winning of High Elves!!! Those pointy ears can go back to wherever the hell they came from, LOL!

      My second game was a great game. And yes, after this VC went down, he cleared out a lot of other models because of the crumbling rule. I was able to get the Terrorgheist with an Amber Spear so that helped tremendously. And as for the regen rolls, he made some and he failed some, it’s as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

